Speaking of love.

This weekend I was reminded of the power of love through the power of our words. Often we get caught up in our busy day to day lives, we can forget to tell someone we love them. We can forget the power in speaking these words to others.

Have you ever stopped to focus on someone else in the middle of your day? Written them a note or dropped them an email or text just to say “Hey dude, thinking about you. Love ya.”

Well, let me tell you, I have been on both ends of that message and as the receiver during a time of need, it was greatly appreciated. I have been reminding my students about the power of their words. We never know what another person is going thru…

…when they might need to hear “Hey, thinking about you today.” Or “Love ya.”

Maybe moving away from my family has brought my appreciation of words to a new level. Or maybe it is from the loss of so many loved ones, so many things left unsaid.

I try hard to never go to bed mad, to never leave things unsaid.

The power of our words is important. Love, honesty, sincerity. Kindness matters, and it just might be your words that are a breaking point in some one else’s life.

I hope we can all choose the words that show the love of Christ today.

Before you speak, think. Be selfless. Show kindness. Love with your words.

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” Colossians 2:13

Thankful for friendships near and far who help me understand the power of love through their words.

Image

To my cousins, I love you crazy fools!!!

ImageTo my best friend, I’m here…I love you.

ImageTo my brother, I am so proud of the man you are, I love you.

335672_2248775549500_3913796_o

To my roomie, thank you will never be enough, I love you.

Image

To the friends of my soul, thank you for showing me the meaning of friendship.

Image

To those who are left out…

to the twins and lynds, all of my moms and dads, peanut in Minnesota, the one whos home shares a wall, shares a name, share my blood, to those who have crossed my path today, yesterday and tomorrow…

you are in my heart and I love you. I am no further from you than across the water.

Posted on October 8, 2013, in 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You’re awesome Tara. :) I always wonder how you’re doing from time to time, not to mention I haven’t seen you in ages!

  2. What a beautiful post! We miss you here in Osceola, NY….. Pam and Paul Dygert

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

