God’s Littlest Angels

Morgan and I were in Haiti for 12 days.  In the first hour we met four deaf people.  In the second hour we thought we would never make it back to the states the way Yvonne was driving.  Morgan and I were in Haiti to volunteer at an orphanage called God’s Littlest Angels (GLA).  It was one of the most amazing, indescribable experiences I have ever had in my life.  The founders, volunteers, nannies and nurses were all so caring, compassionate and eager to welcome us.  They truly captured the spirit of Haiti and for that GLA will always hold a special place in my heart. 

A true Angel

 I can’t even begin to explain what I felt for those kids.  Angels comes close to describing them.  They are happy and snuggly and excited to play and go for walks or read books.  Every morning I was excited to get up and spend my day with them.  Those kids will always be with me.  http://www.glahaiti.org/

Our first week went really fast as we learned about our children and how things were run at GLA.  We were able to try new foods and start learning a new language so we could communicate a little with the nannies.  At night we stayed with Yvonne and Joel.  I love my family and am very grateful they opened their home to Morgan and I.  They did a great job of making sure we were able to see the country while we were there.  We were able to go to the beach, up to the Baptist mission, and into the largest tent city in Port au Prince. 

Haiti is a beautiful country, lush with greenery that has not yet been taken away to make coal.  At 4,500 feet above sea level, my aunt’s three-story home on the side of a mountain was able to withstand the earthquake without even a crack.  I can’t say exactly when it happened, but at some point in this first week I fell in love with the country.  For the second time on this trip something inside of me changed.  I was shook again by my microscopic earthquake.  A tremor shook the core of my being.  This was when I began to lose the old version of myself; allowing a compassionate, faithful new version of myself to rise to the surface above the ruble.  Just like Haiti, a tremor had begun to shake me awake.  The spirit of Haiti had begun to fill my heart.

Balcony of GLA

Posted on July 27, 2010, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sharon Squyres

    What sign-language is used in Haiti?

Leave a Reply

ALL THINGS DELICIOUS

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

