Waiting to return to Haiti

There were many things I had to do while I waited to see when I could return to Haiti; the place that was going to be my home.  It was a lot of work figuring out what needed to be done.  Did I have to become a non profit 501(c)3 in order to continue with the project?  What preparations needed to be completed before I could return?  Was I actually going to do this, was I really going to give up everything and move to Haiti?!  There certainly were a lot of things going through my head.

I was excited about the adventure I was about to embark upon.  I know myself and I knew if I put my mind to it, I could accomplish anything.  For the first time I also had Faith on my side.  I told myself EVERY DAY that as long as I had Faith that this was God’s plan for me I would not fail.  I put all of my trust in God, and so far God has been GREAT!  When I stopped to think about all the things that were ahead of me it was too overwhelming.  I got in the habit of not doing this.   I tried to only think of the positive things that were ahead of me.  The positive results of the sacrifices I was making.  I found comfort in a verse that was told to me “Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.  Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37:3-4

There were many things that had to be done in preparation to return Home to Haiti.  I needed to start raising support.  The project has become my life and my job.  Things came together great in the two short months it took me to pack up my life and move to Haiti.  Lovin’ Cup at Park Point in Rochester helped me host a benefit to raise support.  Special thanks to local Rochester donators; Lovin Cup Bistro and Brews, Urban Essentialz, Starry Nites Café and Wine Bar, La-Tea-Da Tea Room and Parlor, and Encore Salon who donated gift cards to raffle off.  I also want to thank Corinne Stukas who designed the benefit flyer, Beverly Dollinger, Jenn Prosceo, David Young, and Jim Jakubonis who were all independent donors.  Gabi and Morgan were help to me beyond what I could have ever hoped for; true friends that I will greatly miss.  The benefit was a success, we had a great turnout and raised enough money to become an independent non-profit 501(c)3.

It was hard to say good-bye to my friends and family and the life I once lived.  Again I took assurance in what has become my favorite verse “Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37: 4.  I knew I was part of a larger plan; I had given my life to serve God.  In doing this I knew I would be taken care of.   I trusted that when I got to Haiti the plan for my life, for my future would unfold.

Posted on September 8, 2010, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

