An Eye Opener

The weeks were starting to come and go and I was starting to really miss home.  Joel and Yvonne had both left for the states; I was left with my own devices in Haiti.  Without a vehicle it is not as easy to get where I need to be.  My family has been amazing with their patience and kind hearts.  They have opened their home to me, feed me and take great care of me.  As great as all that is, I am and always have been an independent person.  Being 100% dependent on other people is not easy.  At times I feel guilty even for asking “do you mind taking me down to the camp.”  The trip down to Port au Prince can be 25 minutes to an hour depending on traffic.

Working away on Rue de Delmas

Haiti is not the easiest place to be, there is poverty and devastation that takes a difficult emotional toll.  It really makes me think about my blessings and the fortunes God has granted in my life.

Posted on October 30, 2010, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

