Realizations

It did not take long to know where I am supposed to be. NY has been my home for a long time, but not anymore. I can feel in my heart that Haiti is home, not here. It has been great to see family and friends, but I know where I need to be. I often find myself in situations and I think to my past and understand why I experienced certain situations to help me through present situations. I know everything I experience makes me who I am, in the end it all makes me stronger.

First snow fall in upstate NY

There are many arrangements I have to make before I can return to Haiti. I have learned a few lessons from the first time I made this decision. I am preparing myself to return; mentally, spiritually, financially. I will spend January and February speaking at a few churches to raise support to return. I plan to work with 410 Bridge again and resume my role and the relationships I made.

Typical upstate NY snow covered roads

Deciding to return to Haiti was the easy part. Stepping off the plane knowing that so much is different, after so much has happened will be the difficult part. My experiences have made me stronger. God did not cause the events in my life to happen, but he did allow them to. I know there is a reason and a bigger picture that I cannot see right now. One day I will have those moments when I am in a situation and I think back on my past and I will realize it was all to make me stronger. When I used to run in high school there was a quote that was on the back of one of our shirts that often sticks out in my mind “pain is temporary, but glory is forever”-Amen to that!

“I desire to do your will, my God; Your law is within my heart.” Psalm 40:8

Posted on February 1, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

