Patience

Patience has never been a strength of mine. Maybe it’s because I’m a New Yorker, or maybe it’s those family genes I have running through me. For a while I have just accepted it as a part of who I am. Recently however, I have been trying to work on that. I think God is trying to help me out with this, as I feel my patience has really been “tested” these past few months. The Bible says in James 1:3-4 “because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” I feel the trials of testing are His way of helping me work on my patience, or lack thereof.

Beautiful Worship in a tent city church

As I sit on my mother’s couch in snowy upstate New York, I am patiently waiting to hear when I will be able to return home to Haiti. This has been one of the toughest tests of patience yet. There is a community and a project in Haiti and I just can’t seem to get to them. I know God has a time in his great plan as to when I should return to Haiti. I can’t help but feel a little out of the loop by not knowing a specific time for that plan. I am constantly telling myself, “be patient” “patience is a virtue” and even “a watched pot never boils.” I am trying to let perseverance take over. When I find myself being impatient with my own lack of patience I turn to my bible.

I strongly believe I was called to Haiti. I believe connecting with The 410 Bridge was part of God’s plan for me. It is not easy to follow that call of God in your life. Although I feel privileged to be blessed with this calling, there are never the less sacrifices that go along with it. For someone with a lack of patience if find myself wondering if the obstacles that arise with my return to Haiti are some sort of a sign of a misunderstanding of Gods will for my life. I think maybe I got my wires crossed here. Typically when those thoughts creep into my head something will happen solidifying that I am in fact on the right path. As I turn to my bible and pray for strength, guidance and wisdom there are many passages I have come across helping me on my journey for patience such as Hebrews 6:15 “And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.”

As another day passes and I still do not have a date to return home, I ask God to strengthen me in so many ways; patience included. Maybe I will have a return date tomorrow, or the day after, or the day after that. Whenever I do find out, I know it will be part of God’s perfect timing for His perfect plan.

Posted on February 6, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

