“This is my story, this is my song…”

As I was sitting in church service this morning I was reflecting on the events of the past week and months. Over the past few months I have realized that I am called to Haiti. There have been many events and experiences that have brought me here to Haiti and down this path in life. Originally when I moved to Haiti in August of 2010 I had the grand plan to start a school for the deaf. After a short time in Haiti, I quickly realized that was neither the need for the deaf nor Gods plan for me.

Sunset near St. Marc, we work in a community an hour from here.

I had a great first week back to Haiti, Kurt Kandler, The 410 Bridge executive director was here for eight days and I had the opportunity to travel with him to the communities we work in as well as potential new communities. It was an exciting and eye opening experience for me. It helped to further solidify for me that I am in the right place and walking the right path.

I realized I do not know now exactly why I was brought to Haiti to serve. I know this is where I am supposed to be, but only God knows the reason I am here. When this chapter in my journey is finished and I end up on the other end, I hope to be able to look back and see what God’s plan was for me during this time. For now I will continue to move forward in Faith with excitement, knowing not what the future will hold; only that it will be grand. This morning on church one of the songs we sang was “This is my story” by Fanny J. Crosby, I can’t help but think…how fitting, this life truly is “my story”.

Precious little girl i met in the mountains high above St. Marc, one of the remarcable faces that make up "my story"

Posted on February 28, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Carol Verfuss

    I am enjoying your blog Tara, and with your permission will put the info into the newsletter again in March.

  2. Tara,
    There is a special reason you were called to Haiti and it will become clear to you. You are a very special person with a huge heart. I love the pictures you posted they are beautiful. I can’t wait to see more. So what are the communities like that you visted? We look forward to reading all your updates. All our love, L & M

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

