My Rainbow of life…

I’m happy to say that I really hit the ground running since the day I landed in Haiti…and I couldn’t be happier about it! Haiti is a place where flexibility and patience are the way of life. I am faithfully praying to improve in both. Luckily I work with an amazing staff here who remind me through actions daily of this way of life.

A double Rainbow over Haitian mountains!

My role with The 410 Bridge is also grooming me in these areas. I try to keep it all straight in my planner, using different colored highlighters; it makes me smile to see the rainbow of my life as I flip through the pages. There are days when I am able to visit HDC/La Piste and spend time there. Bringing teams to drop in and play with the kids or assisting in a food drop off on behalf of UMCOR.  Talking to the community discussing the plans and their thoughts about what the future holds, helping them to understand the 410 Bridge, who we are and what we do. These days are highlighted pink because that is the closest I can get to red, and HDC is currently on Red Cross land. I also have days when I stay at home doing the “office” type aspect of the job, I’m more of a hands on person and these kinds of days can really drag out. I make those days yellow because that is the color of our house.  Any trips I am able to be a part of with the 410 Bridge team in the province where we are doing community development, I mark in blue as that is the color of our logo.

Of course I can’t plan my life in colors on paper; there are many things that happen, but never make it onto the pages of my planners. The spontaneous events that are making up my life, new people I meet and experiences that brighten my heart. What a blessing to end each rainbow of a day with a sunset over this beautiful country, makes me happy to see that God didn’t exactly “stay inside the lines” when he colored our world.

Like the appearance of a RAINBOW in a cloud on a rainy day, so was the appearance of the brightness all around it.  This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the Lord . . . ” (Ezekiel 1:26-28)

“Hugs are life’s RAINBOWS”-After returning to the states from my trip to Haiti in June, this was my in my fortune cookie

“But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger
You’ll learn things you never knew you never knew

Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon
Or asked the grinning bobcat why he grinned?
Can you sing with all the voices of the mountains?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?
Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?”

-Colors of the Wind, from Walt Disney’s Pocahontas

Near St. Marc, Haiti

Posted on March 12, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

