Home is where the HEART is <3

I love what I do in Haiti; leading teams and being able to work with the deaf community is more than I ever dreamed my life would end up as. I feel so blessed to be here; the teams and the Haitian people I work alongside day in and day out are humbling and inspiring.

I have not been home sick much; to be honest I am too busy to get home sick. Teams who come in from the states often talk about donuts, Starbucks, and milkshakes that at times make my sweet tooth crave for what I just can’t get. I often think of home and the people I miss. I miss spending time with my family and friends, but at the same time I am meeting people who are impacting me for life.

The phrase “Home is where the heart is” can be found strung above doorways and in living rooms in homes all across the states. It is a phrase I try to live by. Wherever I am, I am home. My heart keeps me living in the presence and in that way wherever I am, I am home. In Haiti I stay in many different guest houses, in the states I grew up in a split home environment; I have much experience and practice at turned my suitcase into my dresser.

I don’t think I will ever be able to find the words to express the gratitude for the teams who come down here and allow me to be a part of their experience and their mission family. My friends and family both here at “home” in Haiti and back “home” in the states are always on my heart and when I am away from them I miss them dearly. Thank you all for you constant support and love. You have all lifted me up time and time again and I could not be where I am today, doing what I am doing without every one of you. To everyone who has had a hand in supporting me financially, ‘Thank you’ will never be enough. I am forever indebted to you, it is by your generosity that I am able to follow the plan that God has put in my heart.

 “It well may be
That we will never meet again
In this lifetime
So let me say before we part
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have re-written mine
By being my friend..”

-From the Broadway Musical Wicked, “For Good”

“This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this, than to lay down one’s life for his friends. You are My friends if you do whatever I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” –John 15:12-15 NKJV

Posted on April 7, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Robert Chandler

    Tara,
    I am very moved by your words of sincerity and great faith. As life goes on, you will learn so much more – about yourself, your mission, your faith, your friends, and about the people whose lives you are changing for the better by your contributions, large and small. Often, we don’t really have any idea how many tiny moments of seemingly mundane interactions, impact others profoundly. I often reflect upon the film, “It’s a Wonderful Life” and think to myself “This is no sappy fantasy film at all (as some want to label it.) It is, in many ways, the most truthful and meaningful film ever made. Because, when all is said and done, what truth is greater than the impact each soul has upon all of the other souls they impact – directly or indirectly? And it matters not whether the influence has been direct , indirect, intentional or accidental. What maters is that what each of us contributes to the great Collective Soul does matter greatly. And what power we have been bestowed, for this to be true! St. Augustine’s quote is a favorite of Eckhart Tolle, and I borrowed it to use at the end of my recent book: “Love, and do what you will.” I believe you are already doing your best to live up to that simple, yet lofty ambition. “Each life touches so many others”….

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

