Faith in Faith

When I decided to move to Haiti in June of 2010, there were many factors of that decision. One of the biggest reasons was my new found walk with God, a walk of pure Faith, it has turned out to be a bit more of a leap than a walk, but that is beside the point. After the passing of Todd I began searching for reasons, the answer to the consuming question ‘why’; why him, why so young, so fast, so painful.

I don’t suppose I will ever find those answers, not in this life time. Somewhere between then and now I began to rely only my Faith. Sometimes we are knocked down so low there is only one thing that can lift us up again; Him.

Part of my decision to come to Haiti was to strengthen my Faith, I am a new Christian or ‘practicing Christian’ as I more correctly think of myself. I wanted so badly to be surrounded by others with great Faith, un-shattered Faith; I wanted to learn from them. I wanted to live daily surrounded by those who had inspired me; my family here, my new friends. But, life doesn’t always go as we plan; as I am learning MY plan is far inferior to His plan.

I do not live with the family whom I hoped to glean so much from every day, nor do I see those friends I set out to learn from daily. However, this past week I was able to come to a realization about the greatness of His plan. As I was in Bohoc leading a team from NewHOPE church in NC we were joined by a second 410 Bridge team from GA. Somewhere in the conversations with various team members, listening to testimonies, and watching complete strangers fall unknowingly in love with a country and culture that has captured my own heart-a light bulb as clear as the Caribbean sun turned on in my mind.

I am living out my Faith. I am surrounded by people who are living the same Faith I am. I AM surrounded by others with great Faith, un-shattered Faith; every day I am learning. I am involved with daily devotions and scholarly conversations of scripture. God knew my heart, He knew what I needed. I may have taken the long way to get to where I am now, but God knew I needed those hard times to set me straight, to build up my Faith; to strengthen my understanding. Thank you all for being teachers, pupils and friends.

It seems ironic to me, to get to Faith I had to take a leap of Faith. I suppose that’s what Faith is; if you could study it and understand it…it wouldn’t be Faith. The only thing to do is trust, to have Faith in Faith; Faith in God. When was the last time you took a leap of Faith???

“And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:19

“Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” –Psalm 37:4

“He replied, ‘You of little faith, why are you so afraid?’…” –Matthew 8:26

“…Jesus turned and saw her. ‘Take heart, daughter,’ He said, ‘Your faith has healed you.’ And the woman was healed from that moment.” –Matthew 9:22

“…and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.” –Matthew 10:39

“And he did not do many miracles there because of their lack of faith.” –Matthew 13:58

“The Jesus said to her, ‘Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.’ And her daughter was healed from that very hour.” –Matthew 15:28

“For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will find it.” –Matthew 16:25

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.” –Proverbs 3:5

“The only way out is up Elsie whispered to me. ‘A Leap of Faith’” –From the Broadway Musical Rent, ‘Over the Moon’

Posted on April 13, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love it. God changes things on us and it’s really easy to want to fall into discouragement, self pity and even doubt, but He never ceases to make our dreams come true before we even knew we desired them. So happy we share this life in Haiti!

  2. Great article! I find the more you trust Him, the more your faith grows. But then He puts you in more situations to trust Him even more. I stepped out many times as a Christ follower, but especially through attending Asbury University and not having the financial resources in hand…just trusted Him to provide. And He did!

  3. Laura Melchionne

    Faith is an amazing mystery, you’ve stumbled on the key, trust in the Lord. Love hearing your journey and watching you grow strong as you serve God and Haiti. Can’t wait to see you in Nashville!! Love you, Aunt Laura

Leave a Reply

ALL THINGS DELICIOUS

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

