“Ladies Night” Silver and Gold

 What would life be without friends in it? Where would I be without friends in my life? I don’t have the answer to that and it is one answer I hope to never find out. My friends are separate living breathing entities that come together in some way that over the years make the shape of me. Such a simple statement to say I would not be who I am today without my friends. Such simplicity, such overwhelming truth.

I have the best friends in the world…all over the world! If the world had corners I would have them all covered! Friends have been through so much with me; laughter, tears, joy, growth-its an endless list. Some pass by for a short time and some will stick around for what I hope to be a long life time. No matter the duration they all seem to have a lasting impact, a ‘handprint on my heart’ if you will. I remember singing in Girls Scouts and at Camp Owahta ‘Make new friends, but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.’ How true that is, sometimes that song pops into my head and I think about all the amazing people I have in my life. Tonight is ‘Ladies Night’ for me in a sorts. As I sat at my kitchen table getting ready to welcome a team on Friday before I head to the states for a month, I find myself reminiscing about the friends in my life; both here and everywhere.

Last week I was able to spend some time up at Gods Littlest Angels in Kenskoff, I stayed with my amazing friend Holli Bickel and her wonderful family! She has been such a support over the last few months! It is hard to think how I got through life without her! It is great to have so many friends here in Haiti, I feel like I have a huge support system that carries me through. Holli, Susan, Susie, Joyce, Molly, Emelyne, Melissa and Nikki…I stand in awe of you every day. Thank you for letting me be a part of your lives here and for being in mine! I have learned so much from each of you, your spirits and beauty inside and out can be seen far beyond the sandy beaches of Haiti. (Dixie-thank you for sharing your family and staff with me; I know you know it, but you are blessed beyond measure with those ladies! Pat and Brandon-You guys are pretty spectacular as well, thank you for sharing your wives with the rest of us; they are treasures as you both know!)

Holli, Susie, and I at GLA

I love how GLA merges with the TNM crew, we are like one big happy family! No matter what organization we are under, we are all one family together! Kourtney, Bethany, Bailey, and Erin-thank you for welcoming me into your home so often. Your hearts are pure and I miss our trips to Giant! Wherever life finds you, know you are in the right place and you have a friend in me! Erin Murphy will be marrying my cousin Paul on May 14th! She is already a part of the family and I miss her like crazy! A shoulder to cry on, a hug that warms your heart, and true compassion that got me through those rough times; she was an amazing support. I miss you in my every day Erin-come home soon! I am so proud to call you my friend and soon I will be able to call you FAMILY! (Paul and John-pretty captivating ladies you have there, be good to them; oh and you guys rock yourselves)

My beautiful friends at Erins Bridal Shower ❤

Part of this nostalgia comes from the excitement of visiting my friends at home (NY) soon, part from the sadness of leaving my home (Haiti) and my friends here for a month; and a part just because I have so many amazing friends in my life that I am so thankful for! I want you to know I love each and every one of you. Thank you for being you and helping me be me

Haiti is not the easiest place to start over, but I am so thankful for the relationships that have developed over the past year. I know there are many more to come as new faces pass in and out of the airport and life here. Some for days at a time and some for more, each with so much to offer! As I sit and listen to the rain and of course Cher on iTunes CHEERS to all of the friends in my life, friends for a day via a smile, or friends for a life time via our hearts and souls.

I think this will start a nice theme…silver and gold…to my friends near and far I love you, and tonight…I miss you ALL.

…To be continued…

As I was uploading pictures this song came on, how perfect ❤

“When you’re down and troubled and you need a helping hand
and nothing, whoa, nothing is going right.
Close your eyes and think of me and soon I will be there
to brighten up even your darkest nights.

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call and I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
you’ve got a friend.

If the sky above you should turn dark and full of clouds
and that old north wind should begin to blow,
keep your head together and call my name out loud.
Soon I will be knocking upon your door.
You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call and I’ll be there.

Hey, ain’t it good to know that you’ve got a friend? People can be so cold.
They’ll hurt you and desert you. Well, they’ll take your soul if you let them,
oh yeah, but don’t you let them.

You just call out my name, and you know where ever I am
I’ll come running to see you again.
Winter, spring, summer, or fall, all you have to do is call, Lord, I’ll be there, yeah, yeah,
you’ve got a friend. You’ve got a friend.
Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend. Ain’t it good to know you’ve got a friend.
Oh, yeah, yeah, you’ve got a friend.”

-James Taylor, ‘You’ve Got a Friend’

Posted on May 5, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

