Daphka and Lavita come home to New Life!!!

WOW! What a long crazy-amazing few days! Two large teams came into New Life on top of the group of five awesome men who have been with us all week! I’m not sure how to take the thoughts and feelings of what happened this week and put them in writing…

Trying to get Daphka to drink water at the tent city.

When the team from Christ Fellowship church arrived Thursday, Miriam gave them an introduction and short background on New Life before heading out to visit the same tent city orphanage I wrote about before. A tent city is an emotionally draining place to visit once, but when you have to go week in and week out, seeing children sleeping in blown over tents in the dirt becomes quite overwhelming. When I lie down at night in my bed and rest my head on my pillow, I thank God for all the blessings I have in my life; many more than I can begin to count.

Sleeping on the dirt with Daphka…

Sarah and I were both taken with Daphka, a precious little girl with a quiet nature, when we showed up to the tent city on Thursday her sickly disposition seemed like the perfect reason for us to take her back to New Life to recover. By some grace of God, Miriam agreed to let her come with us! We thought it best to bring another girl with her so she would be able to better acclimate to her new surroundings, Daphka and Lavita came back with the group to New Life.

When we arrived back two of the girls from the team came with me to take Daphka and Lavita to the nurse’s room to get checked out. The girls stayed with Daphka and Lavita through dinner to help clean them up and help settle in.  When I went down to check on them, they were happily watching Peter Pan and eating dinner. As I sat with the two little girls I realized this could have been the first time they have ever seen a movie.

I have spent a lot of time with kids, but I’m not sure of a time when a laugh sounded better than when those two little girls giggled that night. It was an amazing to see a complete 360 change in them. Their eyes were brighter and their smiles bigger; they just exuded joy from every part of their bodies!

I feel so blessed and lucky to have been a part of that time in their lives. There is so much poverty and destruction and sadness in this country it can be difficult to see day in and day out, but none of that compares to those who are living in it daily. I have been blessed with so much my entire life. I have a great family, a good education and have never known the trials that so many people here face all too often.

Daphka and Lavita settled in at New Life
Lavita, Daphka and Miriam at church on Sunday morning.

 

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.
-Psalms 127:3-5 ESV

Posted on July 10, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

