Keeping the FAITH

When the rush of life comes over me and I start to feel overwhelmed, I need to remember to turn to God; to lay my frustrations and my worries at his feet. I came to Haiti by taking a leap of Faith; I took a step and knew that if my foot didn’t hit solid ground God would be there to catch me.  As Peter did in Matthew when he saw Jesus walking on the lake, at first he was terrified:

 “but Jesus immediately said to them ‘Take Courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.’

 ‘Lord, if its you,’ Peter replied, ‘Tell me to come to you, on the water.’

‘Come.’ He said

Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’

Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. ‘You of little faith,’ he said ‘why did you doubt?’”

-Matthew 14:27-31
This passage is so much about faith!!! When Peter saw God walking on water he walked towards him, the wind blew and he grew afraid and called out to God who responded “you of little faith, why did you doubt?” This reminds me to always have faith, when I am scared or ‘sinking’ as Peter was I need to remember that God is right there waiting to ‘Immediately reach out his hand’

Since coming to Haiti I have continually relied on God to get me through situations; to strengthen and to guide me, to give me wisdom and patience. As a fairly new Christian I would have thought this would be a difficult feat to rely so heavily on God-on Faith, but it has been much easier than I anticipated. Perhaps it is because God has always been there when I have taken those ‘leaps of faith’.

I also have a great deal of people who surround me who encourage and lift me up. Since my decision to become a Christian only a year ago I have encountered more amazing people in one country than I ever thought possible. Weather I meet people on teams or fellow ‘Ex-pats’ who are living in Haiti, the people around me make this life possible. YES I have a great deal of faith that’s gets me through my day, but it is my friends who keep me going.

At the end of the day, no matter where I lay my head, there is no doubt in my mind that I am truly blessed. Keep the Faith. Laugh. Smile. Know…life is just as it should be.

Be still and know that I am God. –Psalm 46:10

Do unto others as you would have them do to you. –Luke 6:31

If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer. –Matthew 21:22

Posted on July 18, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ALL THINGS DELICIOUS

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

