GREAT things are coming…

Great things are coming…

I am back from my trip to Australia! I had a great time and feel very rested up! I guess I’ll get right to it and say that The 410 Bridge did not renew my contract for financial reasons and I am no longer with them. Although I wanted to see the project through to the end, I am not all that disappointed. I will always be able to spend time and work with the Deaf community here in Haiti in the capacity of my choosing and will be available to help 410 if ever needed.

I am now free to use my time in Haiti working with organizations and people of my choosing, and that makes me happy. The hardest part will be an income. Working with 410 I was making a salary and now I will need to raise my own support or find a job that pays. Decisions Decisions. Haiti is my home and I am not going to let it go that easily. Previously I wrote about a friend of mine who started an organization in Haiti making recycled shoes from old tires, https://unspokenwordsfromhaiti.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/amazed-by-tout-moun%E2%80%A6julie-colombino/

REBUILD Globally (www.rebuildglobally.org) is an organization with a Mission and Vision I believe in and want to be a part of. I will be working part time with Julie and the REBUILD Globally team. I know financially this will be a difficult thing to do and am searching for a position here in Haiti that would allow me to be financially stable while still work with REBUILD Globally part time. I am still in awe by Julie and her team. She has never given up, even when things got hard and at time seemingly impossible. Her courage to keep going with something she believes in is an inspiration to me.

As the days keep coming, I know none of this is in my hands regardless of how much I stress. I stepped out on Faith to come to Haiti; every day I wake up and do it all over again. God is good and faithful and I have been provided for day after day. I have a good home at MTI (Medical Teams International) with the most amazing surrogate family that have taken better care of me than I could have ever asked for. I remember praying for a safe home where I am happy and can be of use in Haiti, but God went above and beyond for me. I am so blessed here.

In addition to all that, Dave and I are trying to raise money to purchase a car. We met in June of 2010 at an orphanage in Haiti called GLA – God’s Littlest Angels (www.glahaiti.org). Haiti was a hard place to start a relationship and in January Dave returned to Australia for a bit. I guess absence does make the heart grow fonder because he came back to Haiti after I spend a month with him and his family. He is now home in Haiti working in Kenskoff at GLA with his surrogate family who is equally amazing to mine. It is not going to be easy to live so far away in a place like Haiti, but we are going to make it work.

I know it will be a difficult time ahead to be apart, but we are praying to raise money to purchase a vehicle. We found a good one for 9,000; I feel selfish spending any money on something like a car when I live in a country where thousands of people have set up tents that have become their permanent homes. However, I also realize if I want to be any help to anyone here in Haiti I need a safe way to get around and occasionally head up the mountain to GLA to see Dave and the amazing friends who have become my family up there.

A lot has happened and a lot is going on for me right now, but I know not only are big things coming, but GREAT things are coming. If you would like to help in any way, maybe a job that pays, a donation towards my cost of living or towards a safe reliable vehicle for me please let me know or donate via Pay Pal on the right. If you have advice or encouragement you would like to share, that is always welcomed as well!

For more information on any of the organizations I mentioned above please click on the links:

REBUILD Globally

www.rebuildglobally.org

REBUILD Globally is a registered 501(C) 3 organization started by Julie Colombino after the January 12, 2010 earthquake that devastated Haiti. Julie knew she could do something in Haiti to help the people help themselves. Julie started REBUILD Globally to provide jobs for Haitians and began cleaning the streets in Haiti of its tires to recycle and turn into shoes! When you buy a pair or rebuilders you are feeding a family, providing English classes for the Haitian who made your shoes, and ensuring job security for a person in the poorest country in the western hemisphere. How many of you can say that about your Nikes, Havianas or Rainbows? Visit their website to learn more or make a donation to REBUILD Globally who is currently raising money for a safe home to house their staff and volunteers-and don’t forget to buy your Rebuilders today!

Medical Teams International

www.medicalteams.org

MTI is a 501(C) 3 organization based out of Portland, Oregon. Working in Haiti establishing clinics and partnering with hospitals around Haiti, MTI has brought medical care to thousands of Haitians who would have otherwise gone without. MTI established a clinic in Canaan, one of the largest tent cities in Haiti with over 50,000 people. The people in the area of Canaan know Monday-Friday if they go to the MTI clinic, unlike many of the hospitals and private establishments in Haiti-they will not be turned away. If you are a Doctor, nurse, dentist or just a person who wants to help in Haiti, please visit their website for more information.

God’s Littlest Angels

www.glahaiti.org

GLA is a 501(C)3 organization in the mountains of Kenskoff, Haiti; established by Dixie and John Bickel 25 years ago. GLA is an orphanage specializing in premature, malnourished, and abandoned children in Haiti. After the earthquake they received 16 containers of donations for Haiti. Although GLA is not a relief organization, they quickly got the supplies out to the community surrounding them and a few tent cities. I feel so blessed to know the staff at GLA who give their lives up to be with the children until they are ‘home’ safe, wherever that may be. The staff at GLA  is more than family to me and has taken care of me since I moved to Haiti. They are currently raising money to build a new orphanage where their staff, volunteers, children and nannies will all be on one property to run and grow freely within the safe walls overlooking Port-au-Prince. To volunteer at GLA or help them in their efforts to raise money for the building of the new orphanage through their ‘Hairless for Haiti’ campaign please visit their website.

Posted on October 7, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

