Measure your life in LOVE.

As we sat around the MTI dinner table, Ted, the MTI Country Director began telling two volunteers about where he was during the January 12th 2010 earthquake and what he remembered from the horrible days that followed. I have heard Ted talk about these days before, but I found myself listening just as intently as I did the first time as he recalls from his memory what he did and how he responded. Although Ted was not trained in disaster response to this magnitude, he had been in hurricanes, around famine and grew up in the impoverished nation of Haiti; this was Ted’s first earthquake and natural disaster of this size.
To try and re-tell Ted’s story would be nothing short of an injustice. I can only tell how it made me feel as I listened to him on this beautiful October night. There are some people in this world who pass life by; they pass people up on the basis of a snap judgment or gossip; they pass opportunities up because they are disguised as too difficult. Not Ted. At times I read my Bible and learn about God and how life is expected to be lived, but putting that into practice is something I have come to realize many Christians ‘preach’, but do not practice. Not Ted.
“We will pray for them and show nothing but love from our hearts because that is what God tells us to do.” Ted said this last weekend as we drove out to the beach. This I can tell you is how Ted lives. No matter the situation, a person’s story, Ted exudes love from his heart. If only the world was more like Ted.
I remember this statement being an eye opener for me, it humbled me. Yet another lesson I learned from simply being around Ted. To move through life with nothing but love in your heart, to serve not because you pity a country or a person; not because you want to ‘help’, but to serve out of love, because you love-a culture, a human, a country. That is how I want to live. I want to live in LOVE. Not the mushy “I DO” or “You’re my best friend, I love you!” kind of love, but the love of life. To know the gift we call life; to know God loved us so much that He gave His only son for us. We should return this gift of love with love; love of ourselves and love of others. This is what I need to remember to do every day. I know in some way or another I practice this through forgiveness or compassion in my daily life, but is it enough? No, it’s not. To live judge free and all loving, that is a challenge, one that I will be holding myself to.
As I go into the day, I must remember to put into practice the basic word of God. Two commandments, so seemingly simple yet-in my opinion-so regularly disregarded Mark 12:28-31

28 One of the teachers of the law came and heard them debating. Noticing that Jesus had given them a good answer, he asked him, “Of all the commandments, which is the most important?”

   29 “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one.30 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’31 The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

I cannot imagine going into a building held up by a fallen wall of the neighboring building to pull out a person I do not know, but I was not faced with this situation nor this decision. I like to think I know how I would hope I would react, but the truth is that is only a guess. I pray I will never have to find out. Ted talked about the man he found pinned between a beam, a body and another beam; he told us how he got him water, talked to him and did not give up until he was freed. As the building around him shook I can’t begin to imagine what was going through Teds mind, the minds of those trapped in a literal hell on earth – as I have heard it described, and the minds of other rescuers-other Hero’s.

I can tell you I don’t think Ted thought twice about his decision. Love. ‘Love thy neighbor as yourself.’ A million ‘Thank YOU’s’ and hugs will never be enough to return the love that has been shown to me by Ted. The blessing he and his family have been to my life. I can only promise to try my hardest to show others the same LOVE I have been shown. Perhaps it will catch on and spread like wildfire

Matthew 25:34-40
34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

   37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

   40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Seasons of love

Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Moments so dear
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
How Do You Measure – Measure A Year?
In Daylights – In Sunsets
In Midnights – In Cups Of Coffee
In Inches – In Miles
In Laughter – In Strife

In – Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
How Do You Measure
A Year In The Life?

How About Love?
How About Love?
How About Love?
Measure In Love

Seasons of Love.
Seasons of Love.

Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Journeys To Plan
Five Hundred Twenty-Five Thousand
Six Hundred Minutes
How Do You Measure The Life
Of A Woman Or A Man

In Truth That She Learned
Or In Times That He Cried
In Bridges He Burned
Or The Way That She Died

It’s Time Now – To Sing Out
Though The Story Never Ends
Let’s Celebrate
Remember A Year In The Life Of Friends

Remember the Love
Remember the Love
Remember the Love
Measure In Love

Oh you got to you got to remember the love,
You know that love is a gift from up above
Share love, give love, spread love
Measure, measure your life in love.

Measure your life, measure your life in love

Posted on October 13, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

