My Uncle Steve ‘Let all that you do be done in LOVE.’

Life is about the memories you make as you living the moments in your life, sometimes we can get caught up in the big expectations of life and miss the moments that are the most important. Often the unplanned time spent with friends or family are the moments that stand out the most. Life is most often lived best when not planned, but lived.
Recently I unexpectedly lost one of my uncles; to say this seems selfish, we lost a husband, father, brother, uncle and friend. From the outside my family may seem highly dysfunctional, perhaps one might dare to say we can be downright crazy. I would say I have to agree with those statements. However, it is my family who taught me most of the lessons I have learned. In the moments of unplanned life, I grew up. It was the same dysfunctional insane family that came together to the side of loved ones in their time of need and pain.

One by one family trickled in from the four corners of the United States, Mexico and Haiti. As we sat around the table, we talked, laughed and cried as we celebrated the life of a loved one. One by one we shared stories and memories of a life well lived; stories of a father a husband, a brother and an uncle.

It is clear my cousin acquired the master of story-telling from my uncle, it is a true art passed from father to son. Seth grew up watching and learning from his father, they would go out on a simple trip to grocery store and return hours later from an adventure. I could never do the stories justice the way Uncle Steve and Seth can, so many begin with ‘Well my dad tied a rope around my waist…’

‘Carp Wrestling’

Seth told a story about one of the many times in winter the car wouldn’t start because the lines were frozen; Uncle Steve was outside with a blow torch under the car heating them up. A man came in from outside reciting to the cashier what he had witnessed. Seth ended the story when he said to the man, like a kid with a superhero blanket cape around his neck, just like his father’s; “That’s my dad.”

Some people look as though they have nothing on the outside; things to them are just things. If we could look deep down into their hearts, through a window into their souls; those are the people who we might be able to see are the richest of us all. In this way I am jealous of my uncle. His ability to live life to the fullest, never wanting a thing, but expressing such thanks and appreciation for every blessing he had. Uncle Steve found beauty in everything on God’s green earth; he lived each day with a smile and an open heart. He was the definition of 1 Corinthians 16:14 “Let all that you do be done in LOVE.”

Memories are triggered differently for some people. There are different triggers I have that will make me think of my uncle, for my cousins and my aunt I know there are many more. It is my prayer I will be able to live a life a fulfilled as my uncle, that I will be able to see the beauty in everything, that all that I do will be done in love…

Seth*Jenny*Mary*Aunt Linda*Uncle Steve

Psalm 139:16 “…All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

Romans 12:12 “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

Luke 10:27 “He answered, ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your sound and with all your strength and with all your mind’ and ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Posted on November 16, 2011, in 2011. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Laura Melchionne

    A beautiful tribute to Uncle Steve and the family! Not sure that I’d use the ‘i’ word though.

    Love you! Aunt Laura

  2. Laura Melchionne

    Funny, good change!

  3. Thanks Tara my heart is still in shock and I cry everytime I read or think about Steve. But I’m so thankful for the thirty years Jennie and I had with him. Its a whole new life … I feel like an alien having dejavu … asking myself ‘Have I been here before’ something is different… oh yea now I remember.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

