Thanksgiving Bliss

It’s obvious to me I have much to be thankful for this year! I love thanksgiving – it serves as a great reason to get together with family and friends and completely pig out, but it is also a great time to come together with family and friends that you are so thankful for. Some people have different traditions at Thanksgiving, going around the table and saying something they are thankful for is always a favorite. Personally, I like to use thanksgiving as a reminder of the people in my life I am so thankful for!

GLA Christmas Tree!

I am blessed to be surrounded by some of the most amazing people. Of course I am a bit biased being their friend and all, but I was fortunate to spend Thanksgiving with some of the most inspiring, big hearted, beautiful people (inside and out) in the world!

This was the first Thanksgiving I have ever spent away from my family, it is one of my favorite times to get together at my grandmas with all my cousins, aunts-uncles, and the many additions that have married and been born to my family. I missed them all terrible, but I had a great day!!!

Me and the three berry pie I made!

I spent this November 24th at Gods Littlest Angels (GLA) Orphanage. It was perfect from the moment I walked in the door to the sounds of Christmas music and saw the Christmas Tree standing proudly in the corner! The volunteers were happily decorating as the staff started the prep for the glorious dinner spread.

Joyce and I making the stuffing!!!

 

Molly and her dinner role dough!

It was great to be around good friends spending time laughing and giving lots of hugs to so many people I was thankful for. I am so thankful for all my wonderful friends at GLA who have made me part of their family, they are truly amazing people.

From the stuffing to the pecan pie to the people around the dinner table, the day was nothing short of perfect. I hope I will never need a reminder to let the people I love know how thankful I am for them each and every day. I am so thankful for people who are able to show the love of God unconditionally, I am so blessed to have some many of those people in my life – all at one table!!!

‘Family’ around the Thanksgiving table.

Romans 12:12 “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.”

Luke 10:27 “He answered, ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your sound and with all your strength and with all your mind’ and ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Psalm 107:1 “Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.”

 

Posted on November 30, 2011, in 2011 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

