Luly Garden Project

It’s been two whole week here at World Wide Village. I feel so blessed beyond measure! When I first got to Haiti and working with 410 I always felt very alone. I was the only expat living here-but to be fair it was a new thing for all involved, a learning experience of extreme measure. Over the last year and a half I have learned so much, about myself, Haiti and humanity. I have met some of the most amazing talented caring people in the world, and stumbled upon many organizations doing a lot of great things!

This past week two interns were here at WWV working with Debby, a woman who has been to Haiti through World Wide Village a number of times; this trip she was here working on a garden project WWV has going on in Luly. Luly is a small village about 45 minutes north of Port au Prince along the coast.  WWV supports a school there with over 400 students; the school is a new building donated through the Haitian cell phone company Digicel.

Adjacent to the school is where the garden lies. Over the last two weeks I have watched it go from a field of dry dirt to 26 garden plots with space for two compost piles. Debby is very passionate about composting and gardening, the first thing she did when she got to the WWV house was check to make sure the compost was in working order; of course it wasn’t and we all got a lesson on how to sustain our compost to help make a beautiful garden.

Ali and I in the bambo forest at Wynne Farm

The ladies in the community got a lesson in compost as well! It is a foreign concept to many Haitians, but I think with a bit of reiterating, over time, it will sink in. The week was spent helping to move dirt, laying block to outline plots, moving more dirt-good dirt this time, and planting seed.  It has been exciting for me to see the progress of the garden over the last two weeks, but nowhere near as exciting as it will be to watch as the gardens grow and sustain Haitian families!!!

The ladies in Luly planting their gardens

Mid week we took a break to drive up the mountain to a town called Kenskoff to Wynne Farms. Wynne Farms has been in Haiti for over 20 years! They grow –and teach others how to grow-everything from Bamboo to Strawberries! It was a great change of pace to see another thriving project here in Haiti!!! It sure does breed hope in my eyes! There are so many resources here in Haiti, they just aren’t utilized.  For me it always comes back to education. Many of the things we learned in High School or from our parents, even TV and movies we tend to carry with us- adapt and apply to our lives. That is not the case however for most of the world.

Strawberries growing in recycled water jugs.
Gardens in recycled plastic and recycled tires!

My observation is many common sense and things we learn at an early age is taken for granted like so many other “American” things; 24/7 electricity, clean water, shelter-necessities where I grew up, novelties where I live now. Good touch/bad touch, the law of gravity, the life cycle-all taught at an early age in the US-4th grade 8th grade, we learn it and re learn it. Not here. While a child in the US is learning about earth day and planting trees, a child in Haiti is memorizing words, not learning the definition of words, but memorizing them-without meaning.

I wish composting and gardening was as easy to teach and understand in Haiti as it is in the US. I wish the Haitians had vanities like consistent electricity and clean water. I pray the system will stop failing them. I pray I will be one of the people who works myself out of a job down here-that the Haitians I work with will thrive, and grow into the future of their country like I was told growing up I was the future of America. Everyone deserves greatness, everyone deserves love.

Everyone hard at work on their gardens.

Ali and I in the Luly garden!!

Posted on December 17, 2011, in 2011 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Laura Melchionne

    Everyone deserves Hope! Hope for the future and the Good News of Jesus Christ! That is what you and so many others are giving to Haiti. I do hope you put yourself out of a job, that will be the true measure of success. We’re praying for you.

    In case you didn’t know, I love composting. I have a worm bin in my garage to speed up the process. Love you, Aunt Laura

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

