So so many inspiring people…

To say I am blessed by the opportunities in the life I am living in Haiti is a drastic understatement. I get to see so much of this beautiful country and interact with so many amazing people-both local and international. I know I am blessed in the life I live, the luxuries I have and opportunities in front of me. I have had the opportunity to meet some pretty amazing people in my time here. I am starting to realize one of my favorite past times is networking, at least it comes pretty naturally to me…

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of meeting the recipient of the Digicel Foundation’s Entrepreneur of the year award in the environmental category. From the moment Eddie sat down to lunch I just had to drill him with questions; he is 24 and the CEO of the company he started in Haiti after the earthquake in 2010; Environmental Cleaning Solutions S.A (ECSSA). I was so fascinated by the operation he stated to provide jobs and clean up his country; I was touched by his heart. With my networking mind, one of the first thoughts was Eddie HAD to meet Julie form REBUILD Globally!

Julie is an amazing friend of mine who started a company after the earthquake making sandals out of repurposed tires cleaned up around the streets of Haiti. Eddie provides jobs to over 10,000 Haitians a year though his recycling business. They hit it off right away; it was obvious there was a friendship and business partnership brewing.

After getting my billionth tour of the REBUILD Globally shop-in which Julie makes me cry every time; we all hopped in the back of the truck and went over to tour Eddie’s facility. I was so overwhelmed by the impressive operation Eddie was running. It might not look like much from the pictures, but being on site, I could feel the hope in the people around me. I could see the hope and promise of the future of Haiti.

Plastic bottles to be recycled.

Of all the people I have met in Haiti, Eddie and Julie rank in the top two of inspiring people. I couldn’t be more blessed to know them or feel more enriched by their spirits. I am proud to know them and I hope they are proud of themselves-they should be!!

Compressed plastic ready to be sent out to be recycled!

As the days pass by in this beautiful life, I have the opportunity to meet more and more people who change and mold my soul…I pray this is only the beginning and I continually thank God for this amazing opportunity!

Please keep Eddie and Julie, their organizations and their staff in your prayers!

2 Timothy 1:7 “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline”

“Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” –Brian Littrell and Les Brown

Posted on January 24, 2012, in 2012 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ALL THINGS DELICIOUS

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

