Realizations and honesty…and a group of people forever ingrained in my heart

Last week an amazing team from Illinois was serving on the ground. I had the pleasure of spending the entire week with them. We spend most of our time at Foundation of the Promising Children of Haiti (FPCH). There are 46 children out there and ten children that come in for school. Most children there are not true orphans, but orphans of poverty. Many parents in Haiti are unable to feed and provide for their children; homes such as FPCH provide the care and family atmosphere which the child’s family cannot. We had a good week with the children, loving on them and spending time with them.

A lesson from some of the youth.

I am a passionate person and am never shy to give my opinion or tell someone exactly what I think or what is on my mind. Good quality or bad, this is me. I guess you could say I have been feeling extra feisty lately or extra passionate about what I am doing in Haiti; how I see the world here, the culture and the people…even the aid.  The last thing I will do is compromise my values and beliefs. If someone asks my opinion-don’t expect it to be sugar coded. This does not mean that I feel I am always right, just that I feel strongly about my opinions and experiences. If you ask, expect nothing short of my honest opinion.

Everyone helped to paint the depo!

The group from Illinois had many questions. One night at debrief after a day out at FPCH, Shannon, one of the staff here at WWV with me made a great observation that really made me think; ‘I thought that by moving here I would get answers to some of my questions, but I actually have less answers and more questions.’ This is a profound observation with (in my opinion) a great deal of truth-an insight to my every day.

Team work!

Every time I seem to have an answer to something, another question arises putting the answer to my first question in jeopardy. The truth is, maybe we aren’t meant to have the answers. Maybe just like everything else we just have to trust that it is this way, for whatever reason…it is what it is.

The question of the benefit of short term missions came up with this team. This is a loaded question; ‘Are we doing more harm than good?’ To be honest I don’t have the answer to that question either, I believe it is situational. In the case of this team, I believe the answer is no-no you did NOT do more harm than good, but this is not always the case.

With the team from Ill we built a kitchen at an orphanage of 46 children. We proved to 46 little people that they are loved. We showed up day after day and loved on them, did crafts with them and at the end of the week cooked and sat down to a meal with them. I can tell you from experience the best thing you can leave with a person is not a soccer ball jump ropes or bubbles, but yourself-the gift of your time. To leave and come back shows children more than any deflated soccer ball could ever do.

Cooking in the old kitchen!

I feel like this group got it. Their money was building a kitchen, but their time was building relationships. I believe change will be made person to person with the gift of time. Through relationships and friendships; love, one neighbor to the next.

Teamwork to a T!

Kitchen almost completed!

Even I got to pitch in!

Thank you guys for coming down here and giving your time; I truly miss you all and learned so much from your team and I know I am not the only one missing you! I hope to see you all again weather here or on your side of the ocean…

If you find it in your heart to care for somebody else, you will have succeeded. -Maya Angelou

In this life we cannot always do great things. But we can do small things with great love. -Mother Teresa

Group shot!

“Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”

Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” -Matthew 22:6-40

Posted on April 2, 2012, in 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Karen Dieringer

    Tara – thanks for sharing that story – I am so happy to see that things are going well at FPCH. After our experience there, I think of those kids every day and and am glad to see that they have received some very worthwhile material things but most importantly some more people that love and care for them. I think that is one of the hardest things that I have had to deal with since my trip…. yeah, I went for a week and did some things for some people, but now what…..I come home, my life goes back to the way it was and in the scheme of things, did I make a difference? I definitely want to come back and am trying to figure out a way to make it more of a long term trip but if not, I still want to believe that even in a week, something good can come of it. Best wishes and blessings to you all – love,Karen

  2. Dear Tara; I love your heart! I have returned to the land of plenty and see it through very different eyes. I sooo miss you and our new Haitian family and look forward to returning to Haiti. Keep up the good works my friend. There is a special place for you in Heaven!!

  3. Tara, We all felt so connected to you and your heart. Your love for Christ and His people is inspiring. My family and I pray for you and your ministry in Haiti. We had our 1st service Sunday. The Lord is using our experience with you to help our church to remain humble servants serving others. Thank you for your impact on our lives. We love you and plan to serve with you again. – Bob

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

