Home Again.

For those of you who know me REALLY well you know my favorite movie of all time is The Wizard of OZ, I love the books, the movie, the life lessons-all of it! Sometimes I feel like Dorthy, off on this incredible journey that happened to her, meeting incredible friends, overcoming struggles, but ultimately making it to OZ and home. Unfortunately for me coming home is not as simple as taping my heels together-first of all I don’t have Ruby Red slippers and second, well we all know it just doesn’t work that way.

I travel back and forth to Haiti and the US, calling each place home. I grew up in a small town in upstate NY, went to college in Rochester, I drove often between my mothers and fathers house, grandmas, the lake; yet wherever I laid my head at night I always knew I was home.

In the book, Glinda told Dorthy she always had the ability to go home, it was with her all along; all she had to do was think real hard and say those magical words “there’s no place like home”-and the ruby slippers helped of course! Well I don’t have to think real hard, I just make home wherever I am. I suppose as corny as it is ‘Home is where the heart is.’

As long as I do my best to keep friends and family in my heart whenever I am away, I know them will always be with me- wherever life takes me. NY will always be home…and so will Haiti. Work is here, friends are here, family is here-life is here. Home is where your heart is and it sure is good be home!

Posted on September 25, 2012, in 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful thought on home. I do also travel / lived away from “home” very frequently that I felt “no home” that what I was praying to the Father about.. I hate the sense of not belonging to anywhere though moving places were definitely exciting opportunity for me. I would love to learn from your thought today.

    • Thank you for reading!!! It can be difficult to feel as though you don’t have a place to call home “A room of ones own”; something I long for. I find I must continually remind myself home may not always be a place, but a feeling in my heart. Trust in what God has put in your heart. If I can face the day with that thought, home is never far away.

      • Thank you so much for your encouragement. I am at the difficult time where I believe God is challenging my faith. I know it is the time to trust and wait. It is hard but I am sure that is the task I am given by Him. So.. I wait. I know He will provide all I need.. And yes! I was just thinking of what I need may be near as well by reading 2 Corinthians 9:8. He never forget about all of us at any time, yes? =)

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

