Hiking in Haiti: Seguin

This past weekend I got to take part in one of the many perks of my job. I was one of the chaperones of an annual weekend trip here at Quisqueya Christian School to the mountains of Seguin. I have been on some beautiful hikes here in Haiti, but never as far as Seguin. As Student Activities Adviser, part of my role here at QCS is to plan trip such as this one. I have to say I learned a lot through trial and error…

Like having the donkeys sent down and a price negotiated ahead of time…oops. But, like everything in Haiti, we figured it out without much stress (and with the help of one of our amazing parents)! Loading all of our bags onto donkeys we set off for what we thought was an eight mile hike.

The sound of laughter, the excitement that can not be contained on your face, life is full of blessings…

The groups were spread out over the hike, but with a route carved into the side of the twisting mountains we were able to see one another, even those a mile or so ahead of us! I am still not sure if looking up was a good thing or not at times; looking up and seeing mountains as far into the distance as you could and hearing “we are going over that mountain”

Image

Such beauty.

“Umm, Im sorry, but WHAT?!?!?” is what I was thinking in my head. Trying not to show my complete exasperation and exhaustion to the students we were trying to encourage. “Oh yeah guys, we totally got this!!”

The whole trip was breathtaking to say the least (and yes, I do mean that both ways). I tried many times to capture the views in a photo, coming up short every time. There are sights of this country that are something only to be seen with the eyes, no photo will ever do it justice. As I stood eye level with clouds, I looked around to mountains on every side as far as I could see.

Image

I mean, hopefully we do…

There were no cars, no noise and stifling air of the city; only beauty, beauty beyond words. Blessings beyond compare…

As we huffed and puffed up, I made sure to try to point out and appreciate as much beauty and blessings from God as I could. Every flower, every berry and tree, little huts made of stone, every rock. It was all beautiful.

Image

But none of it was as beautiful as my seniors. They are so special to me and I am so proud of them. Coming up a two mile hill (9 miles in) and meeting the front group coming back down to help the rest of us, what a blessing. They were encouraging to one another, cheered each other on and waited until every one of their classmates made it to the top.

Before arriving at our destination, we had a three mile hike through the pine forest. It was a necessary break for our feet and legs after nearly nine miles of up, up and more up (in case you are bad at math like me, what we thought was an eight mile hike was actually a little more than 11-oops!)

Image

Beauty is everywhere.

The horses, grass on our feet, waterfalls, the music of nature; more blessings, everywhere blessings…

After settling in and taking the coldest shower I think I have ever taken in my life we gathered together for a meal, debrief and devotion. Over the course of the weekend we read through and discussed the entire book of Ecclesiastes. We focused our weekend on wisdom and leaving for college with wisdom in the hearts of our students. Here at Quisqueya I am blessed to have the opportunity to continually speak wisdom and truth into the hearts of our students.

Learning with my students, watching them understand, falling in love with God each day; more blessings….

During our first debrief everyone went around and shared one thing they enjoyed about the day. I so love hearing the way our students care for and about one another.

Image

The second day a causal hike to a waterfall and cave turned into an extreme three mile adventure down a river bed.

“Since no one knows the future, who can say what is to come?” Ecclesiastes 7:29

Although I was worried at times, like when the water was up to our shoulders, it turned out to be an amazing time for our students! I can’t imagine the day going any better. I love the plans the Lord has that far exceeds ours. The debrief that night was one of my favorite moments, asking the kids “Where did you see God today?” I loved their answers, but mine was my favorite. I saw Him in you! In your strength and enjoyment, your complete appreciation for the beauty around you.

Image

I am blessed by each of you.

They took the time to look around and appreciate the moss and the water. They took the time to stop and wait for each other, to help one another down the river. I am so proud of the people they are becoming and honored to be a part of their stories in a small way.

It is the company we surround ourselves with that make us who we are. Our experiences, our reactions, our joys and laughter together, how we conduct ourselves in difficult situations. We set the bar high for ourselves and for those around us.

Image

I am proud of you all!

Ecclesiastes gives us much wisdom and I am grateful to have shared that with our students and those with me in the mountains. Be joyful in your day. In the warm hike through a wooded forest and in the freezing river. Be grateful in your day. In the sights of the mountains around you and in the road that never seems to stop going up or ending. For there is much to learn from every situation.

“When times are good, be happy;

but when times are bad, consider;

God has made the one as well as the other.

Therefore, you cannot discover

Anything about your future.” Ecclesiastes 7:14

Posted on October 31, 2013, in 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow my story and journey in Haiti

